In the state of Florida, anyone who owns a vehicle must not only have it registered with the state, but must also always carry that registration when driving at all times. In the event you get pulled over by the police for any reason, you must show them the registration forms. Failure to do so can result in a fine, along with the revoking of your driver’s license, on top of any consequences enforced as a result of getting stopped. However, we are all human, and we all tend to lose things from time to time, even though they may be important. Likewise, there may come a time when someone might steal your vehicle registration. In either case, you’ll need to get it replaced as soon as possible. Here’s how to obtain a vehicle registration replacement in the state of Florida.
The process of replacement, and what you’ll need
In the state of Florida, vehicle registration replacements are taken care of by the DHSMV, or the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. As mentioned above, if you’ve lost your vehicle registration or someone has stolen your vehicle registration, you’ll need to apply for a duplicate copy immediately. You may do so in one of two ways, either by doing so online using the DHSMV website (they call this particular section of their website their “virtual office”), or by doing so in person by visiting your local DHSMV office.
Filing for a vehicle registration replacement online is a fairly simple procedure. You’ll do so by visiting the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Virtual Office. Once you’ve reached the website, you’ll need to provide your full name, your mailing and residential address, your Social Security Number (SSN), the numbers for both your license plates and your driver’s license, and your date of birth. Finally, you will need to present a valid method of payment in order to pay the $2.50 fee for duplicating the registration, as well as the online service fee of $2.00. All major credit cards and debit cards are supported, including MasterCard and Visa.
Applying for a vehicle registration replacement in person will most likely be a very similar, if not identical, process to applying for one online. However, if you’d like to do it in person, you can have your tax collections office do it if that’s more convenient than going to a DHSMV office. In either case, you’ll need to provide all of the above documentation, and you’ll need to provide the initial duplicate registration fee. In this case, the non-refundable $2.00 online service fee does not apply.
However, it should be noted that the cost of the initial vehicle registration duplication fee can vary by office, as can the process of applying for it. It is generally recommended that you contact your local county DHSMV office to find out if the process or fees for applying for a vehicle registration replacement are different in your county.
Please note that having your vehicle registration replaced does not mean you’ll also need to replace your driver’s license or registration stickers. These items will only need to be replaced if they have also been damaged or stolen.
That’s the entire process of applying for a duplicate vehicle registration. As you can see, it’s quite straightforward and simple. After the application process is complete, your new registration documentation should arrive in the mail within three to five business days.